Digital Identity

Part One:

Partner: Alejandro Flores

1) Alejandro’s digital footprint only shows his Facebook page, which lists his interests. Other than that, I couldn’t find him on any other social media and his Facebook page is mostly closed off.

2) An employer can only really see nothing about him online, which is both a bad and a good thing. It’s bad because they won’t be able to access any work he’s done, but also good because he’s kept his personal life out of the eyes of them.

3) The information I found was coming from Facebook. I couldn’t find him on anything else.

Part Two:

To establish my digital footprint, it’s important for me to be signed up on a variety of social networks. This way, when people search for me, not only will just one result come up but probably many, which can all be linked to each other. Each different social media website offers another approach to having an online profile; Facebook is used as a personal profile for your friends, Twitter is used as a public profile to connect to others with similar interests and opinions, YouTube is a public or personal profile aimed at connecting you to videos or allowing you to upload your own and share. The point is, the more places I’m signed up on the more opportunity I have to connect with different people about different things, which would yield more results in a search engine. However, my name would have to remain constant across these social sites, so when “Ian Smyth” is searched my profile from all of them comes up, rather than the alternate name associated with accounts. A way to solve this is to have a flagship social network; one that the majority of public information about me is stored. This should be one of the first results on a search and would contain links to other websites that are mine under different names.

To inform teachers and potential employers of who I am as a new media professional, I should constantly be uploading content about myself that is not only flattering but also skilled. Every good video I make should go on YouTube, every well written piece I develop should go on WordPress, and every artistic photograph I take should end up on Flickr or Instagram. And, of course, all of these should be links on my public Twitter account so more people can access them. When practitioners come across my online profile I want them to see skilled work I’ve completed rather than just social interaction amongst peers and colleagues. I should also try and write and upload flattering information about myself. Not to sound vain, but the best way to make a good first impression online is to be seen at my best, which means a profile picture should have had work put into it and a profile summary should emphasize my best traits. Having a good digital footprint is all about trying to look the best you can and be the best person you can be online.

Henry, Alan. “How to Clean up Your Online Presence and Make a Great First Impression.” Lifehacker.com. Lifehacker, 28 Nov. 2012. Web. 12 Oct. 2013. http://lifehacker.com/5963864/how-to-clean-up-your-online-presence-and-make-a-great-first-impression

*I could not figure out how to search my wordpress by “Ian Smyth”, but if “iantsmyth” is searched it is one of the first things to come up.*

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Digital Identity

  1. alxbal says:

    Can you come up with more specific ways of developing your identity? which social media networks would you use?
    I.e. What tricks can you use to get your name to show up in the search results?

  2. Ian Smyth says:

    Do you want me to add those answers onto the article now?

  3. Alejandro doesnt have much have a big digital footprint, do you think that is mostly a good thing or a bad thing? Do you think it’s right for employers to be looking at our personal stuff anyway?

    Linking your audience from one account to the other is pretty simple, from Facebook friends to follow you on Twitter, all you need to do is post a status to get all these accounts linked up, but i feel like then there becomes no privacy. I personally like to keep my facebook profile a bit more public, whilst youtube account a lot more secretive.

    It might be a good idea to post good work on the internet, but once its out there, its out there forever. I might be better to just give them a USB with your work on it, instead of uploading it anywhere, since you never know where it could end up.

Leave a Reply

